Bug 120207

Summary: [Qt] Support architecture specific test expectations in NRWT
Product: WebKit Reporter: Allan Sandfeld Jensen <allan.jensen>
Component: Tools / TestsAssignee: Allan Sandfeld Jensen <allan.jensen>
Status: RESOLVED INVALID    
Severity: Normal CC: abrhm, commit-queue, dpranke, galpeter, glenn, jturcotte, kadam, ossy, rniwa, zarvai
Priority: P2    
Version: 528+ (Nightly build)   
Hardware: Unspecified   
OS: Unspecified   
Bug Depends on:    
Bug Blocks: 67777    
Attachments:
Description Flags
Patch
none
Patch none

Description Allan Sandfeld Jensen 2013-08-23 06:31:17 PDT
We have been missing support for adding qt-arm to the search path in NRWT for some time and since many tests also fail specifically on 32bit x86, it would be great if we could specifically skip tests on either of these platforms.
Comment 1 Allan Sandfeld Jensen 2013-08-23 06:34:49 PDT
Created attachment 209455 [details]
Patch
Comment 2 Csaba Osztrogon√°c 2013-08-26 02:23:57 PDT
*** Bug 67777 has been marked as a duplicate of this bug. ***
Comment 3 Csaba Osztrogon√°c 2013-08-26 02:28:37 PDT
Comment on attachment 209455 [details]
Patch

View in context: https://bugs.webkit.org/attachment.cgi?id=209455&action=review

> Tools/Scripts/webkitpy/port/qt.py:146
> +        #              |
> +        #     (qt-x86|qt-x64|qt-arm)
>          #               \
>          #    (qt-linux|qt-mac|qt-win)
>          #                |

What if removing qt-linux, qt-mac and qt-mac at all?
- qt-linux: empty, haven't been used ever
- qt-win: empty, nobody tried to run layout tests on win in the past
- qt-mac: no bot, not maintained long long time ago (last skipping was on 2012.Jun 20. - r120808)
Comment 4 Peter Gal 2013-08-26 03:02:28 PDT
View in context: https://bugs.webkit.org/attachment.cgi?id=209455&action=review

> Tools/Scripts/webkitpy/port/qt.py:133
> +        return py_machine

Shouldn't we give some kind of warning/error in case that there is no match to any of the known architecture? It should not be a really common case, but maybe it's better if we play it really safe.
Comment 5 Allan Sandfeld Jensen 2013-08-26 03:34:43 PDT
(In reply to comment #4)
> View in context: https://bugs.webkit.org/attachment.cgi?id=209455&action=review
> 
> > Tools/Scripts/webkitpy/port/qt.py:133
> > +        return py_machine
> 
> Shouldn't we give some kind of warning/error in case that there is no match to any of the known architecture? It should not be a really common case, but maybe it's better if we play it really safe.

It could return empty string that would make sure the architecture search path doesn't get added. Though this version means anyone running a sh4 or mips architecture could add their own expectations.
Comment 6 Allan Sandfeld Jensen 2013-09-03 02:07:13 PDT
Created attachment 210337 [details]
Patch

Do not add search paths for unknown architectures
Comment 7 Allan Sandfeld Jensen 2013-09-03 02:09:20 PDT
(In reply to comment #3)
> (From update of attachment 209455 [details])
> View in context: https://bugs.webkit.org/attachment.cgi?id=209455&action=review
> 
> > Tools/Scripts/webkitpy/port/qt.py:146
> > +        #              |
> > +        #     (qt-x86|qt-x64|qt-arm)
> >          #               \
> >          #    (qt-linux|qt-mac|qt-win)
> >          #                |
> 
> What if removing qt-linux, qt-mac and qt-mac at all?
> - qt-linux: empty, haven't been used ever
> - qt-win: empty, nobody tried to run layout tests on win in the past
> - qt-mac: no bot, not maintained long long time ago (last skipping was on 2012.Jun 20. - r120808)

I doubt it will ever be used in trunk, but I might try to run the test on other platforms in the branch (if possible). Anyway, we can remove the other operating systems in another patch.
Comment 8 Anders Carlsson 2013-10-02 21:41:52 PDT
Comment on attachment 210337 [details]
Patch

Qt has been removed, clearing review flags.
Comment 9 Jocelyn Turcotte 2014-02-03 03:26:59 PST
=== Bulk closing of Qt bugs ===

If you believe that this bug report is still relevant for a non-Qt port of webkit.org, please re-open it and remove [Qt] from the summary.

If you believe that this is still an important QtWebKit bug, please fill a new report at https://bugreports.qt-project.org and add a link to this issue. See http://qt-project.org/wiki/ReportingBugsInQt for additional guidelines.